Gym Essentials

Gym Essentials by The Fashion Antlers

Ted Baker Wash Bag: The Fashion Antlers Gym Essentials

With it being January, I am, like most, back at the gym! So I thought I’d share with you a few of my gym essentials and some tips and tricks I’ve picked up over the years.

I always take headphones, working out without music is so difficult, for me at least. Having a somewhat compulsive personality and being a musician, it does mean that I have to run or row or cycle to the beat of the music, which can sometimes make me look a little crazy, especially when a particularly fast song comes on… Fast paced compulsiveness aside, I find music motivates me and keeps me interested in what I’m doing.

Alternatively, if you’re not a music person, take a book. Obviously you can’t really read a book whilst your running, but whilst cycling you can. I find this is a great way to work out without even realising, if I’m reading a good book and it’s drawn me in for a couple of chapters, before I know it I’ve done thirty minutes of cardio and cycled over 7km.

I always take a wash bag packed with my best shower and hair products. I like to treat myself after I’ve done a hard workout, whilst the three in one shampoo-soap-conditioner provided in the gym showers isn’t all that bad, I’d rather take a little longer in the shower and reward myself with my L’octane travel sized shower gels and Lush sea salt shampoo to give myself a sense of well-being after a workout.

A big water bottle is a must, it saves you from having to stop your workout to refill, and having a bigger bottle encourages you to drink more water. There is no doubt that water is the best thing to drink whilst working out, but let’s face it, sometimes, water can get a bit boring. So why not invest in a good water bottle and fill it with some fruit and water to create your own fruit . Personally, I find citrus fruits that extra bit refreshing when you’re all hot and sweaty from a workout. Orange and lime, lemon and watermelon, lime and cucumber all make for great home-made flavoured water.

Facial cleanser is a necessity. Never work out with make up on, when you sweat your pores open, and if you’re wearing make up it’s just going to clog up your pores causing spots and blemishes. I like to use toner before I work out and after I’ve had my post work out shower, just to keep my skin healthy.

I always pack a snack, whether it’s a pre gym or post gym, I always like to keep something on me to nibble on when I get hungry, whether it be a banana or an apple for a pre gym snack, or a post work out nibble like a cereal bar or some nuts. It’s better to have something healthy on you whilst your hungry, rather than wait until you get home and ‘accidentally’ binge on crisps or chocolate, again.

Everyone’s different, but these are my personal gym essentials. Do you agree? What do you take to the gym with you?

_____________________________________________________

Keep up to date with all my latest posts here:

Bloglovin’ | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Pinterest